Skip to content


Secretariat Role
Independent Chair (appointed) Sally Pearson
Deputy Chair (appointed from within the Senate Council) David Halpin
Citizens’ Assembly Member Chair (or Deputy) Joanna Parker/Nick Pennell
Citizens’ Assembly Member selected on a topic specific basis TBC
HEE Debi Reilly TBC
WEAHSN Anne Pullyblank
SWAHSN Matthew Dolman
PHE Maggie Rae
Core Members  
Specialty Medicine Peter Rowe (Nephrology)
Specialty Medicine Andrew Tometzski (Paediatric Cardiologist)
Specialty Medicine Nick Kennedy (Anaesthetics)
Specialty Medicine Andria Merrison (Neurology)
Speciality Medicine Peter Wright (Medical Scientist)
Speciality Medicine Sharon Brown (Radiologist)
Speciality Medicine Christine Spray (Paediatric-PGHAN)
Speciality Surgery Melanie Feldman* (Colorectal)
Speciality Surgery Ben Lankaster (T&O)
Speciality Surgery Michelle Mullan ( Breast)
Speciality Surgery Peter Davis Paeds Intensivist/Surgery
Speciality Surgery Neil Hopper Vascular Surgeon
Emergency Medicine/Surgery Katie Cross
GP Mary Backhouse
GP Vacant
Ambulance Service Rhys Hancock
Mental Health Paul Winterbottom
Oncology Vacant
Care of Older People Sara Evans
Care of Older People Arvind Kumar
Nursing Aileen Fraser
Nursing Caroline Smith
Nursing Carol Stonham
AHP Jane Mitchell
AHP Ros Wade
Public Health Bruce Lawrence
Children Miles Wagstaff
Children Anita Pearson
Pharmacy/Vice Chair of the East Cornwall Primary Care Network Mark Stone
Clinical Strategy Marion Andrews-Evans
Social Care Vacant
Co-opted Membership  
Clinical Network – Maternity (shared) * Ann Remmers/ Dawn Morrall
Clinical Network – Cancer Amelia Randle
Clinical Network – Mental Health David Soodeen
Clinical Network – Cardiovascular Vacant
Clinical Network – Dementia Peter Bagshaw
STP/ICS Clinical Lead BNSSG Vacant
STP/ICS Clinical Lead BSW Ian Orpen
STP/ICS Clinical Lead Gloucestershire Andy Seymour
STP/ICS Clinical Lead Devon Paul Johnson
STP/ICS Clinical Lead Somerset Alex Murray
STP/ICS Clinical Lead Cornwall Tamsyn Anderson
Non Voting/Invited  
NICE Jane Jacobi
Specialised Commissioning Vacant


The Clinical Senate Council is the ‘steering group’ of the Clinical Senate, led by the Clinical Senate Chair, Dr Sally Pearson, and consisting of a core membership of senior health and social care leaders, clinical experts and patient and public representatives. As far as possible, the selection of Clinical Senate Council members will be geographically and professionally distributed.

The Clinical Senate Council will take an overview of the strategic direction and business of the Clinical Senate by;

  • Agreeing the Terms of Reference for the Clinical Senate
  • Developing and publishing a set of principles and values that guide the Clinical Senate
  • Being responsible for the formulation and provision of independent advice to commissioners
  • Agreeing the key priorities for the Clinical Senate in consultation with the health and social care system